The Canadian National Section of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY Canada) is now accepting submissions to the 2010 Frances E. Russell Grant.

The Frances E. Russell Grant was established by the late Marjorie Russell in memory of her sister, a longtime supporter of IBBY Canada. The $1,000 grant is intended to support IBBY Canada’s mission “to initiate and encourage research in young people’s literature in all its forms” and is given in support of research for a publishable work (a book or a paper) on Canadian children’s literature. Past winners include Gail Edwards, Judith Saltman, Michelle Mulder, Michelle Cobban, André Gagnon, Ronald A. Jobe, Carole H. Carpenter, Sydell Waxman, Françoise Lepage, Lynn Westerhout and Krista V. Johansen.

The deadline for proposals, which may be submitted in English or in French, is May 1, 2010. Eligible works include:

  1. Studies of individual authors and their work, especially if they are considered in their socio-historical context.
  2. Comparative studies of two or more authors, which illuminate their stylistic differences, or consider their social and historical approaches.
  3. Subject/Genre overviews, for example, Canadian fantasy or historical fiction.
  4. Biographical studies of Canadian children’s authors or illustrators.
  5. Studies of Canadian illustrators and their work.
  6. Related subjects including contemporary theoretical approaches to the study of Canadian children’s literature.
  7. Research for children’s fiction or non-fiction based on Canadian topics or subjects.

Three copies of each proposal, which should include a project synopsis and curriculum vitae, are required. The competition is open to Canadian citizens or landed immigrants. A jury, appointed by IBBY Canada, will select the successful applicant.

Send proposals to:

Attention: Deirdre Baker, Frances E. Russell Grant Chair
IBBY Canada c/o The Canadian Children’s Book Centre
Suite 101, 40 Orchard View Blvd., Toronto, ON M4R 1B9

The winner of the 2008-9 Frances E. Russell Grant will be announced in April 2010.

The International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) believes in the ability of children’s books to bridge cultures and, ultimately, to promote peace. Jella Lepman, founder of the International Youth Library, started IBBY in 1953 in postwar Germany. Her goal was to promote international understanding through children’s books. Established in 1980, IBBY Canada is one of more than seventy sections worldwide.

For more information about IBBY and the Frances E. Russell Grant, please visit the IBBY Canada web site at or write to

Call For Submissions to the 2010 Frances E. Russell Grant