Nominations and proposals for the Carol Gay Award, Mentoring Award, Graduate Student Essay Awards, and the Hannah Beiter Graduate Student Research Grant, Faculty Research Grant and Diversity Research Grants are now open and will close on February 1, 2020.

This year we are also happy to announce the new June Cummins Diversity Conference Travel Grant which is open until February 28, 2020.

For more information and to submit a nomination please visit the ChLA website, or click on the links below.

Carol Gay Award – The Carol Gay Award, initiated in 1997 as an undergraduate essay award to honor one of ChLA’s founding members, Carol Gay of Youngstown State University in Ohio, by her husband, Tom Gay, is presented to a college undergraduate for an outstanding paper which contributes to the field of children’s literature. 

Mentoring Award – The ChLA Mentoring Award recognizes excellence in mentoring taking place within the ChLA and extending beyond the boundaries of the mentor’s own university.  

Graduate Student Essay Award – Established by the ChLA Board in 2005 to parallel the Carol Gay Award for undergraduate essays, the Graduate Student Essay Awards recognize outstanding papers written on the graduate level in the field of children’s literature. 

Hannah Beiter Graduate Student Research Grant – The Hannah Beiter Graduate Student Research Grants were established to honor the memory of Dr. Hannah Beiter, a long-time supporter.

Faculty Research Grant – The grants are awarded for proposals dealing with criticism or original scholarship with the expectation that the undertaking will lead to publication and make a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature in the area of scholarship or criticism. 

Diversity Research Grant – The Diversity Research Grant, initiated in 2013 and approved by the board for disbursement beginning in 2014, is a grant to support research related to children’s and young adult cultural artifacts (including media, culture, and texts) about populations that have been traditionally underrepresented or marginalized culturally and/or historically.

June Cummins Diversity Conference Travel Grant – Named in honor of June Cummins, one of the founding members of ChLA’s Diversity Committee, the grant supports the professional development of students and scholars from minority communities. 

If you have any questions regarding these awards, or need further assistance, please contact Jamie Reed, ChLA Association Manager at

ChLA 2020 Awards Nominations Now Open!